top of page
Search
Clarissa GN

3 WHYs of An Introvert

Many claim to be introvert as if it is just a phase. As if it only happens when one gets upset, locks herself up in her room, refuses to mingle with friends etc. As if when the storm passes, when everything becomes okay, an 'introverted' person will just press a button and the phase will be over.

Kids, listen. That's not how it is.

Introversion is a personality trait that sticks with you for years -- even for life.

Some may ask why. Here are three of mine.

1. It makes me comfortable. I enjoy solitude like most people enjoy parties. My alone time is the best part of my day. I have a few friends and I enjoy their company. However, nothing beats the calmness and joy I feel when I am alone.

2. I lose focus when in hectic environment. I easily get distracted. When I am put in a situation where I need to interact with a lot of people, especially strangers, I get lost and blank out.

3. I am not good with intrapersonal communication. Virtually, I am a very social person. I talk to almost everybody. I joke around, make fun of myself, blabber about many things and can be the 'life of the party'. However, when it comes to communication with people in the flesh, I am a different person. I stutter, get anxious, and feel very uncomfortable. In return, people will think that I am either rude, very shy, stupid or disrespectful.

See, I don't call myself an introvert for the lack of a better term. I call myself an introvert because I am one. For me, it's never a phase. Introversion is me, my personality, my lifestyle.

12 views0 comments
bottom of page